Pasties, Legwear, and Makeup LotD

Saturday Husband took me to the farmer’s market in Fairfax.  I’ve hated farmer’s markets since childhood because my mother had a habit of dragging me out of bed at unholy hours when I was little for the local farmer’s/flea market and a day of yardsale-ing.  Gods, I hated that so much.  We got up before daylight to go to a dusty parking lot to buy vegetables.  You were lucky if the flea market was going on, because at least then there was something other than tomatoes to look at.  It was no fun for a child and certainly no fun for this child, who even then was not a morning person! So you can imagine his surprise when I asked to go on Saturday.  He woke me fairly early (well, early for me on a Saturday) and I jumped in the shower while he fed Chewie.  It was definitely one of those “slap on some BB cream and walk out with your hair wet” mornings.

This farmer’s market was neat!  It’s much more than just folks selling vegetables.  There are meat vendors, bread booths, jewelry stalls, and flower sellers. You can buy homemade popsicles and hot crepes to order, grilled chorizo sandwiches and hot empanadas. Most weekends they have a kettle corn stand and a local coffee company, though they were absent on Saturday.  But the best part – and the reason I wanted to go – is Celtic Pasties.  Last weekend Husband came back from his trip to pick up Chewie’s medication with a chicken mango curry pasty for me from the farmer’s market.  Even cold, it was delicious!  It was my first time eating a pasty, and I wanted to try more.  We certainly didn’t have anything like that at the farmer’s markets where I grew up.  So I spent way too much on pasties and empanadas.  But, oh, it was worth it!  I bought a “Total Breakfast” pasty, which was filled with eggs, hash brown, bacon, and onion.  I also bought a spinach empanada and a ham and cheese empanada.  The spinach was definitely my favorite by far.  The pasty I saved for lunch and oh my goodness was it amazing!

We also got fresh green beans, white peaches, and silver queen corn on the cob – one of my favorite veggies.  Husband brushed it with truffle oil and grilled it with our dinner last night.

After the farmer’s market, Mr. Lucard wanted to run into a hobby shop in Fairfax to get some paint.  He’s got a figure set as part of a Kickstarter he helped fund, so he’s going to take up mini painting.  There’s a DSW right next door, where I found these:

Lace tights, ftw!

I’m not a huge fan of pantyhose, though I admit they’re sometimes necessary (like when your stockings are pinching the crap out of you, or if your dress is just way short).  But I don’t hate tights for some reason, even though they’re basically opaque pantyhose.  Who knows?  I couldn’t resist these.  I adore lace.

We did a few more errands before coming home to feed Chewie his evening meal.  Then we went back out to Target.  There was a huge thunderstorm while we were in the store, so even though we’d filled our little basket with everything we came to buy, we hung around the store while we waited for it to abate.  Husband decided to get a snack while we waited, and I checked out the dollar bins, where I found these.

Monster High Socks Yay!

I don’t wear socks.  I wear knee highs, stockings, or tights. Except, that is, when I’m working out.  I found early on that knee highs under sneakers didn’t provide the cushioning my little feet need.  Still I rarely buy socks and when I do they’re almost always Halloween.  But these I could not resist.  I love Monster High.  These are actually a little girl’s 7-11 size, but they fit me perfectly.  I didn’t realize until I got home that the pink pair on the left had made it into my basket.  Pink isn’t exactly my favorite color.  But whatever.   I am ridiculously happy about these socks.

Today I slept in, because we had no plans.  After I got back from the gym,  Husband and I decided to go out for a late lunch.  While he fed Chewie I hopped in the shower.  I had originally decided to just “slap on” a bit of makeup, but when I found myself with some extra time I couldn’t resist playing around a bit.

Urban Decay’s Naked2 palette. Colors, from left to right: Foxy, Half Baked, Bootycall, Chopper, Tease, Snakebite, Suspect, Pistol, Verve, YKD, Busted, and Blackout

This palette marks my first purchase of Urban Decay shadows.  While I really like the colors in this collection (way more than I thought I would, actually), I find that the shadows aren’t as long-lasting as I like.  I realize that’s probably because Urban Decay wants you to also buy their shadow primer!  I’ve tried a couple of primers in the past and I don’t like the way they feel.  So in the future I will probably stick to shadows I know are long lasting on their own, rather than invest extra money in an extra layer of goop. In the meantime, however, I am enjoying the looks I can create with these colors.

I did my usual face: MAC Oil Control lotion, studio fix fluid (NC 15) and Studio Careblend powder (light).

For the base color on the eye, I used Foxy from the crease to the brow, and Verve on the lids.  I smudged L’Oreal Le Kohl Pencil in Carbon Black into my upper lashes, blending it with a sponge wedge. Then I lined the lower lid.  That’s pretty much my every day liner look, even for work. With my big, fat, angled brush, I worked Blackout into the crease, and added just a touch of Verve under the brows for sparkle.  Then, just to be a bit more dramatic (and because I had time), I used Maybelline Line Works liquid liner on just the top lid, over the shadow.  L’Oreal Voluminous mascara on the lashes, and that’s that.

You know you wanted some bad iPhone pictures of my makeup.

The lip is just a random pinkish gloss from a Victoria’s Secret collection.  I didn’t bother with actual lipstick, since we were going out to eat and it wouldn’t last long anyway.

For my hair, I just blow dried it with a wide toothed comb.  I’ve been happier lately just letting it do it’s own thing.  That’s not easy for me either – curling and cussing my hair to within an inch of it’s life is more the norm for me! But that’s another post for another day.

I sort of like how my nose is just barely suggested in this photo.

Husband wasn’t available to take an outfit pic, which is just as well – I threw on a black lace tank and an old pair of dark jeans because it was easy.  And because I knew I was going to come home and change to finish the cleaning I didn’t get done yesterday.

This will probably be last really low-key weekend we have for a while.  We have plays and concerts, operas, and ballet every weekend through Halloween, I think.  Even with Chewie’s feeding schedule, we manage to work Cool Things in when we can.

This entry was posted in Fitness, Makeup, Outfits. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Pasties, Legwear, and Makeup LotD

  1. Elizabeth says:

    Tights don’t bug me because they breathe. I guess it’s the looser knit or something, or the fact that you can get tights with a bit of natural fiber in the weave, They also come in a wider range of colors and patterns. I despite pantyhose, though, and refuse to wear them.

    Your eye makeup looks super cute, BTW. When I do wear makeup (which is rare) it’s never more than mascara and lipstick, so I like seeing what you can do.

Leave a Reply

