October

October used to be my favorite month.

Halloween has always been my favorite holiday, as far back as I can remember.  Long before I started down the Pagan path, and long before I even knew what “Goth” was, I looked forward to playing dress-up and eating lots of candy.  Up until I was twelve, it was the one time of year that I might be allowed to wear makeup if I was lucky (if I wasn’t, I got stuck with those slightly dangerous and really uncomfortable plastic masks).  If I was really lucky, my brother wouldn’t find and eat all of my candy haul.[i]

As I got older, I found so much more to love.  I learned the origins of the holiday and began to appreciate it in a whole new way.  I started looking forward to the season, the time of year, and not just the holiday.  There was something magical about the change in the seasons – the chill in the air; the smells of fallen leaves, cinnamon, pumpkin, and apple pie; the lengthening nights.  I like summer, don’t get me wrong, but I’ve always been happy to trade the strappy dresses and sandals for warm snuggly sweaters and tall black boots.

But you’ll notice I speak in the past tense here.  Because I lost Boo in October, two years ago.  The day before Halloween, actually, and I was miles away. The one Halloween I don’t spend with my Baby Boy, and something terrible happens.  I will never completely forgive myself for gallivanting off to Salem and leaving him with my parents.

Halloween was our time.  I always spent it with him.  I painted a giant haunted house for him, in fact.  It’s not very good, but my husband has given it a rather prominent place in our living room because it belonged to Boo.  And there are black cats literally everywhere this time of year.  So even though not a day has gone by since he passed that I haven’t thought about him, it is so very much worse right now.

October will always have bad associations for me now.  I can’t seem to recapture the magic this time of year once held for me.   I’m trying.  I really am.  Even though we can’t travel this year, Alex has booked at least one Cool Activity for every weekend this month, and a couple during the evenings. And I have a costume!  So it’s not like I don’t have anything to look forward to.

But I just can’t shake the feeling that there’s something missing – because there is.


[i] My brother is seventeen years my senior.  By the time I was old enough to be sentient, he was a grown man.  He had a good-paying job and very few expenses, since he lived at home with us until his late twenties.  He ate my candy out of pure meanness.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to October

  1. Elizabeth says:

    I am so sorry, chica. I know you won’t ever forget Boo, but I hope that as time goes on, you can create some happy memories around this time of year to take some of the sting out of the sadness :/

Leave a Reply

