Pagan Coming Out Day

I’m a Pagan.

I’m sorry if you missed that.  I’m not sure how you could.  I haven’t ever went to great lengths to disguise the fact.  But I can’t say I advertised it, either.  Until one of my colleagues at the University I used to work at got hold of the information.  He advertised it.  Not maliciously – he was just a gossipy sort, is all.  I wasn’t the only Pagan there by any means, and most of the others were out, so it’s not like it hurt my “career” or anything.  It just felt odd at first.

I don’t have a well-defined path; I don’t call myself Asatru or Dianic or even Wiccan, and I don’t follow any set tradition.  When I give my Gods names and faces, they tend to be Celtic or Norse.  For no other reason that that those are the ones who speak to me (though I don’t mean that literally).   Oddly enough, my altar contained a (very expensive) statue of Bast to represent Goddess energy…because it was a gift from someone who meant well (though when my babies have been sick, I’ve tended to turn to Freya instead).  And in all honestly, I haven’t even had an altar since I moved in with my husband.  There’s just no space right now.

I won’t go into a long and detailed post about my religious beliefs here.  There’s a ton of information online about the various forms of Paganism practiced today – when the revival started, the source material for the earliest Gardenarian Wiccans, etc. (Google is your friend, but remember to apply a hefty dose of common sense to some things) – that anyone can access.  What I would like to say is this:  Religion, or the lack thereof, is a very personal thing.  We all have different perspectives and different needs, and what feels like “truth” to you may not feel like “truth” to me.

I honestly do  not give a damn what anyone else believes (or does not believe).  As long as you’re not going around causing people harm, I’m happy to let you do your own thing.  I ask the same courtesy of others.  I also ask that you don’t presume things – my experience isn’t the same as yours.

And for the love of all that’s good and holy, do not correct me if I say “Happy Holidays.”  

 

This entry was posted in Celebrations. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

