Glamour and Polka Dots

When The Professor announced her Homework Assignment for this month, I was sure there was no way I could participate.  I have no pollka dots.  I can’t remember ever owning anything with polka dots, actually.  I know I had a dress shirt once that was white-on-white Swiss dots.  And someone once bought me a hideous navy blue sundress with white pin dots (I wore it once when I had a bad sunburn and it was the only thing I had that didn’t touch my thighs or my arms – it was a really ugly dress).  But truly,  I’m more of a pinstripe kind of girl.  I have three different pinstriped suits and a pair of pinstriped pants…and I had two other pinstriped suits, but got rid of them for various style/fit reasons.

But then I walked over to the Semi-Annual Sale at the little Victoria’s Secret in the mall behind my office.

First let me say that everyone should go to the Semi-Annual Sale at their local VS.  Even if you can’t wear or don’t like their underwear.  Because you never know what you will find.  I have gotten some great deals on stuff, especially in the smaller stores.   I got a great tote/satchel for ten dollars at the Beckley store during their first sale – I still use and get compliments on that thing.  And the Ballston Mall store, which makes the Beckley store look huge by comparison, was overflowing with half-priced makeup, perfume, and gift sets, even if it didn’t have much in the way of bras for me.  I managed to get the Supermodel On the Go makeup kit for fifteen bucks!

This will be much easier to take on vacation...and it might pull me out of my comfort zone.  Maybe.

This will be much easier to take on vacation…and it might pull me out of my comfort zone. Maybe.

I also got these, which just happened to be polka dotted:

Not the greatest photos...

Not the greatest photos…

The lotion is black-on-black dots, the fragrance mist is silver, and the powder box is white-on-pink, with a black-on-black polka dotted ribbon accent.

The lotion is black-on-black dots, the fragrance mist is silver, and the powder box is white-on-pink, with a black-on-black polka dotted ribbon accent.

Isn’t the package design gorgeous?

There is nothing that makes me feel more glamorous than perfumed body powder applied with a big puff.  For some reason, I associate it with the Hollywood stars of the 30s, 40s, and 50s, though I am not sure where that comes from.  But I know I am always thrilled when I can find a perfumed body powder in my favorite scents.  Victoria’s Secret generally comes through for me in that department.  And while the now-discontinued Velvet will always be my favorite, I was glad to add Heartbreaker to my collection.  It’s very feminine and flirty.  Best of all, my husband doesn’t hate it!

Now, if only Dita Von Teese would release a perfumed body powder in her signature fragrance, my life would be complete.

Thanks to the Professor for another interesting homework assignment.  Click on the badge above to visit her blog, and to read all of the other assignments submitted this month.

This entry was posted in Makeup, Themes and Blogging Events. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Glamour and Polka Dots

  1. Oooo, I love the packaging! It would look so beautiful on a dressing table. I used to love VS bath and body products, but I haven’t set foot in the store since they changed their image from “English romantic garden” to … “angels” and Pink. Maybe it’s time to go sniff their body products. 🙂 Thanks for participating!

    • mrslucard says:

      I am not a fan of anything Pink. Actually…I’m not a fan of anything that advocates the printing of words across someone’s butt.

      My favorite thing they’ve ever done is the fabric collections – Chiffon, Silk, and Velvet. Velvet will probably always be my favorite traditional perfume. Of course, it’s discontinued.

  2. It always helps if the spouse doesn’t hate it!

    Is Dita von Teese’s fragrance only sold at Victoria’s Secret? I’ve never smelled it (actually, I didn’t even know she had one until just now). Is it nice?

Leave a Reply

