Oh the Weather Outside is…

…completely stupid.

A storm that started around 7:00 p.m. Wednesday night dumped almost a foot of snow on the D.C. Metro area.  My neighborhood in Arlington got around eight inches!  The heavy snow overnight, combined with the cold, created road conditions so bad as to close down most businesses – including my office.  It was apparently bad enough that the client materials I had sent out via UPS “Next Day Air” got as far as Baltimore and no further.

We woke up to this yesterday morning:

Yuck.

Yuck.

You can barely make out our street under all of the snow.  Behind the treeline is I-395.  Normally at 7:00 a.m., there is a line of traffic backed up at least a mile headed toward D.C.  Not so yesterday.  You can see where the parking lot had been plowed and then re-covered with snow.

By mid-afternoon, the temperatures had warmed up just enough to change the snow to sleet.  Disgusting is too mild a term for how it looked outside!  I was more than happy to “plug in” and work from home.  In fact, I had expected it, and had brought files home with me the night before.

Around 7:00 p.m., it had changed over to snow again.  Husband and I went outside for the first time; he cleaned off the car a bit and we walked down to the Village.  The snow was coming down really hard again at that point, though the air temperature didn’t feel terribly cold.  A lot of people were out and about; most of the restaurants opened by lunch time yesterday and there are a lot of people who live within walking distance (like us).  I left my phone behind like a dummy, so I don’t have any photos of the Village all lit up and covered with snow, sadly.

The precipitation had completely stopped before we went to bed – I don’t think it started back up.  I wish I had gotten a photo of the bus stop across the street (there were people waiting there, and I didn’t want to be rude).    The plows had piled snow up almost as high as my knees.  One person was standing almost in the road!  Fortunately my hiking boots have good traction and are sturdy.

I did get a photo of a cute little squirrel scampering about on the hillside this morning:

Squirrel!!

Squirrel!!

And now, as I sit here at my desk, my weather app tells me it is currently fifty degrees!

But wait – there’s more snow in the forecast tonight!  We’re supposed to get a couple more inches by tomorrow afternoon.  The temperature is supposed to drop well below freezing, so all of the wonderful melted runoff will freeze again.

I joke that this wasn’t the winter that was advertised when I moved here, I am well aware that it could be much worse.  One of the first things I noticed when I moved here was that NoVa can mobilize it’s road crews really fast and they do not play around.  Whether schools are cancelled or not, they’re out there pre-treating, treating, and plowing the roads.  That was certainly not the case in West Virginia.  If schools were cancelled, you’d be lucky to see a salt truck at all.  West Virginia does not believe in closing businesses down when it gets bad, either, and I had many a close call driving to and from work on bad roads when I lived there.

Even so, I am really looking forward to the end of winter.  I hate February and I am really glad that it’s half over!

This entry was posted in Adventures. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

