Valen-Versary 2014

I will start off by saying that I have always hated February.  I have no love for “V Day,” it’s true, but it’s mostly the weather that gets me down.  February always seems to drag on forever, and winter with it.  It was when southern West Virginia got it’s worst weather (ice storms, anyone?) and northern Virginia seems to be no better.  For a short month, it’s the longest, bleakest time after the holidays when you have nothing to really look forward to until spring.

Of course, now my wedding anniversary falls smack in the middle of February!

I’m not really a Valentine’s Day celebrator.  My husband tries his best, and I applaud his efforts – but I am more than willing to celebrate our Anniversary and forget V Day all together. Although, I do love to eat and several of our neighborhood restaurants do a nice V Day spread.

This year, we had plans to once again have T.H.A.I. in Shirlington on Valentine’s night.   We both love Thai food and this restaurant goes out of it’s way for occasions* – New Year, Thai New Year, Father’s Day, Valentine’s Day – they always have a special pre fixe menu full of things we want to eat.  Then my husband wanted to do some sort of meal on our Anniversary the next day.  We had planned to take advantage of a special “meal deal” from Fresh Market.  Unfortunately, our Fresh Market (as wonderful as it is!) is new and they were completely clueless that this deal was going on.  So then we decided to drive to Potomac Mills to have Korean for lunch, but for some reason he changed his mind about doing that.  He finally settled on brunch at Orso, a place we’d never been.  He wanted to do something “special.”

Our meal at THAI was fantastic, even if the service was horribly slow – I started off with crispy scallops, then had spicy seafood kapow with “pink velvet” cake for dessert.  Alex had ahi tuna “firecrackers” (they were really fancy spring rolls), steak and shrimp, and “Sexy Berries” (a berry and yogurt parfait) for dessert.   We took dessert photos.

"Sexy Berries."

“Sexy Berries.”

"Pink Velvet" cake.  I can't tell you what flavor it was.  It wasn't chocolate, but it was really good.  I love spun sugar.

“Pink Velvet” cake. I can’t tell you what flavor it was. It wasn’t chocolate, but it was really good. I love spun sugar.

In the end, the spicy kapow proved to be too much for my tummy.  We didn’t do a special Orso brunch for our Anniversary the next day because I just wasn’t up to it. We did go out and run some errands, and had a nice little lunch at Zoe’s Kitchen.  Then much later that night, we had chicken delivered.  In between, though, we spent the day together.  Which was really all I needed to make the day special.

I had hoped to have a cool Anniversary outfit photo no matter where we wound up, but since we kept it even more low-key than I had originally wanted, all I have is my V Day outfit and our Cheesy Couples Selfies.  I look very, very tired in the pictures.

I was really tired after work, but I wanted to at least try to goth it up.  I've had this top since forever, and though you can't see it, the skirt is floor length with a slit up the side.

I was really tired after work, but I wanted to at least try to goth it up. I’ve had this top since forever, and though you can’t see it, the skirt is floor length with a slit up the side.

I have so few photos of us together where he's not making a face.  Or chewing on mine.

I have so few photos of us together where he’s not making a face. Or chewing on mine.

Someone headbutted our legs and meeped until we picked her up.  She wanted to be included.

Someone headbutted our legs and meeped until we picked her up. She wanted to be included.

It’s hard to believe we’ve been married two years.  I’m really hoping next year we can just “celebrate” our Anniversary – though I won’t discount the possibility of taking advantage of any V Day menus or specials that might be on offer the night before!

*This year, it looked like the only restaurant in our ‘hood that was doing anything.  Turns out, they were the only one promoting.

This entry was posted in Celebrations. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Valen-Versary 2014

  1. A MOST Happy Anniversary to both of you! 🙂 And many, many more. HAHAHAHAHA! I always have photos in which I’m eating Ed’s face or head. *snicker* Ah, love and silliness. A perfect match.

  2. Happy Anniversary to you both!

    Not sure how I feel about Sexy Berries … seems a little odd to see a pair of legs sticking out of one’s dessert, or is that just me? ;o)

    • mrslucard says:

      I swear I think he ordered that just to get to say “I’ll have the Sexy Berries.” The legs were sugar cookie, just like my heart, and I’m sure they were delicious. My first thought was Dita von Teese’s martini glass routine, so I thought it was cute. But then one of his facebook friends described it as looking kind of like someone had dissolved a can-can dancer in a vat of acid…which ruined it for me.

  3. Happy Anniversary! Love your outfit and the “Cheesy Couples Selfies”. You make an adorable couple… or should I say trio?! 😉 And your meal sounds/looks delicious!

    I have to admit that I like V Day. Not that I get caught up in any of the commercial aspects, but I do love a good excuse for a celebration. My husband, son and I have a little party together every year, celebrating love in general, not just romantic love. This year we head Champagne (coke for the kid), our favourite Chinese takeout, and Ben and Jerry’s ice cream. Perfecto! 😀

  4. PS. That should have been “had Champagne” not “head Champagne”. Oh dear!

Leave a Reply

