And I Think There’s a Story There….

 

It’s Red and Black Week! Hosted by the lovely Ms. Kitty of Sophistique Noir. This is the first time I’ve participated, actually.  I’m very excited!  It’s my favorite of her themes.

My first entry has less to do with fashion and more to do with sentimentality and the things our hearts hold on to.

If you’ve been reading my blog for any amount of time (or even if you only read my Sophistique Noir theme posts), you know that I shared about half my life with a gorgeous black cat I called Boo. He was basically the love of my life, and when he died a part of me was lost.  It’s been almost four years now, and I still miss him every single day.

I also love dragons.  Artwork of dragons, toy dragons, books about dragons, and movies with dragons; everything except How to Train Your Dragon.  I didn’t like the artwork or animation style at all based on the trailers, so I didn’t see it when it first came out.  Actually, I didn’t see it until my husband Netflixed it, after I’d moved in with him.

Image from Wallippo.com

Image from Wallippo.com

But when I saw Toothless for the first time…it brought tears to my eyes.  The way they animated him, his face was more like a kitten face than a baby dragon.  The expressions they gave him reminded me so much of kitten Boo…

So now I have this irrational attachment to a cartoon dragon because he reminds me of my lost kitty.  We even refer to him as Boo Boo Kitty Dragon because why not?  Toothless is pretty much everywhere – Alex immediately bought me the movie and the holiday special and I own most of the episodes of Dragon Riders of Berk; he’s my wallpaper across devices (even at work) and my Chrome theme; I have action figures and stuffed toys; I’m stupidly excited for the new movie next week.  My husband even took me to see the Live Spectacular show when it came to DC (that was awesome on a number of levels). You bet I bought the T-shirt!

As I mentioned, I have several little Toothless toys already – two action figures and two stuffed toys.  But when a friend told me about the Build-a-Bear version of Toothless that was set to debut Memorial Day weekend…I kind of had to have one.  And I thought, what better to wear than my T-shirt from the live show!

Me and my Boo Boo Kitty Dragon.

Me and my Boo Boo Kitty Dragon.

I’d never done Build-a-Bear before.  I knew that each toy gets a special “heart” and that you’re supposed to hold it in your hands and make a wish.  All I could think about was my Baby Boy.  And yeah, I did opt for the heartbeat.

Here he is!  Isn't he cute?

Here he is! Isn’t he cute?

You might be wondering what a stuffed dragon has to do with Red and Black Week at this point.  Well…

The tail rudder than enables Toothless to fly.

The tail rudder than enables Toothless to fly.

If you’ve seen the movie, you know that Hiccup injured Toothless on their first encounter.  So he built him a new tail fin that works like a rudder – Toothless can only fly when Hiccup is operating it.  They kind of need each other that way.

A close-up of the T-Shirt.  This was bought at the Live Spectacular.  I wore it with black pants, naturally.

A close-up of the T-Shirt. This was bought at the Live Spectacular. I wore it with black pants, naturally.

All my Toothlesses!

All my Toothlesses!

I thought it would be cute to get them all together for one shot.  The stuffed toy in the middle is from Target; he purrs.  The one on the far right is from the Live Spectacular.  His wings are bendy.  But he’s dark blue for some reason…  My action figures are both from Target, as well.  The one of the left is Baby Toothless (pre-injury) and the one of the right is Mature Toothless (post-injury).

Apparently I’m not the only one who thinks Toothless reminds them of their favorite black kitty!  When looking around the web for a good movie still of Toothless for this post, I saw more than one image comparison!

This entry was posted in Pets, Themes and Blogging Events. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to And I Think There’s a Story There….

  1. Lynoire says:

    I’m a huge fan of How To Train Your Dragon, in fact, the first time I saw it, it brought tears into my eyes as well and I’m still moved by the soundtrack…which is not only my ringtone, but go – to music while working. Anyway, not here to rant…:P I love your stuff, those plush toys are adorable. ^^

  2. Linnea-maria says:

    Aww. That’s a wonderful story. I’m glad that you found comfort in that caracter. When we saw that on the movie with the kids, my youngest son cried when Toothless got injured, he was really captured by the story.

  3. I know that feeling too well, of losing a treasured kitty and never quite being able to get over it. All kitties are wonderful, but some just have an extra special bond that becomes a piece of your heart. It’s wonderful that Toothless brings you warm, happy memories of your baby.

    I’m so glad you chose to join in Red & Black Week this year, and that you began by sharing such a sweet, personal side of yourself.

Leave a Reply

